White Jacket – Marfy 9636

As part of my record of makes I’ll be including some things that were made a few years ago and posted on Pattern Review.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am a big fan of Marfy jackets. I made this when I really had no idea how to properly fit myself or properly interface, etc. I had an image in my head of an off-white jacket that I could wear in the summer when it’s cool in the early morning and cold in the office. After studying the Marfy options, I went for this one because of the collar design, princess seams, faux pocket flaps and peplum. It’s OK for a first pass, but I am itching to do this one again in another fabric.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The fabric consists of two coordinating cotton upholstery fabrics, one smooth, and one textured. I fell in love with the textured fabric but won’t use an upholstery fabric again. Promise. This jacket practically stands up by itself.  The lining is a basic Bemberg, but it has a bit of show through.

Check out the Marfy sketch below. It has a companion stole with it so you can’t even see the front of the jacket!

marfy 9636

The red in the sketch above shows how I was studying the style lines.

Lessons learned: Don’t sew jackets from upholstery fabric.

Leave a Reply

